The Things you Love, the Things you Hate

So there are things out there that we love, and that we hate. Nobody goes through life without having a time like that.

Take me for instance. I love reading. I hate dishes. So when it’s time for dishes and I have a good book, I must do my best to not gripe about it, or else it gets taken away. It does happen. But I try to remind myself that my parents do that so that the work can get done. Even if it means that I have to give up some of my reading time.

You might love video games, TV, trying out different hairstyles, or even just drawing. You also probably don’t like the chores that need to get done. But they have to get done. Here are some tips:

The sooner you get started, the sooner you are finished, the sooner you will stop dreading having to do it. And I personally feel that dread is what makes the chore seem so much worse than it really is.

Once you finish, you can go back to whatever you were doing before, or something else you want to do.

You do it, and your busy parents don’t have to. Help out a bit.

While doing it, imagine things. Dishes is a good time to plan out a story, or while you’re cleaning up. Even if you’re not going to write the story, it’s fun to imagine it.

Think of how every dish you wash, every toy you pick up, every second you watch your siblings, is one dish, toy, and second closer to being done.

Offer it up for somebody you know who is sick, needs help, or you just like and want to help.

Might as well get on with it. You only have so much time to live in this world, so get it done fast. It just might turn out faster than you expected. 🙂

 

❤ bookwormjulia

 

3 thoughts on “The Things you Love, the Things you Hate

Leave a Comment

