To My Someday Children

To my someday children,

today I am a teenager; tomorrow I will be an adult; and one day soon I will be your mother. The world has changed a lot in the past few generations, but in some ways it is still the same. I might not understand what it is like to live in your generation, but I can guarantee that it wasn’t too different when I was a kid.

Life is beautiful- the pain and hard times will always be there, but the good times are worth every minute that you wait. Hang on tight.

I can’t protect you from everything. Sometimes I’m going to let you make your own decisions, let you deal with the consequences of your actions on your own, because that’s how you grow up. That’s how you learn. I might seem old fashioned or clueless sometimes, but I’ve been through the times you are going through right now. My parents drive me crazy sometimes too, but the older I get, the more I realize that they know what they are talking about.

I won’t be a perfect mom- perfect moms don’t exist. But I’ll do my best, and I’ll teach you one of the most important lessons I can every time I mess up: the importance of saying ‘sorry’.

You are special in every way. No matter what you’ve done and no matter who you become, you are ‘fearfully and wonderfully made’ (Psalm 139:14). Psalm 139 says that God built you while you were still forming inside of me, and that everything God makes is wonderful- that makes you wonderful!

So when you are ready give up, trust in God and what He has done for you. Always stay true to who you are, and remember that I will always love you.

Love, your Momma

-itsajthoughts

Leave a Comment

