Comparing

Hey there guys!

Yep, it’s me! I’m back! (And by the way, great posts just below by my blogging friend! 😉 )

Today I am talking about comparing.

Everyone has those days where they can’t help but compare themselves to anyone or anything. That’s one of those days when the internal ‘mean girl’ takes the wheel and directs you throughout the day, and you can’t seem to wrestle it back.

You’re so ugly… why do you even do that? It’s not as if you’re good enough to do it well. You’ll never be pretty. Your friend is so much prettier. Stop leaving that stuff there! Clean it up and do your schoolwork! You’re so behind in it, I can’t believe that you ever will get through it all… 

Sound familiar?

This ‘mean girl’ can seriously lower your self esteem. That’s not good. If you’re going to be  stuck with the same head forever, you’re going to be stuck with the same ‘mean girl’ forever. That’s why we have to learn how to be stronger than her and wrestle that wheel out of her hands. I have trouble with doing this myself, but slowly am learning.

If we let her remain in control for too long, it could actually hurt our health. She was in control of my own mind yesterday, truth to be told. I kept feeling down, so ready to just sit down and give up on all my dreams. Who was I kidding? I’m just a teenager; I can’t do anything.

Wrong. I can do whatever I want, whatever I decide to set my mind to and achieve.

That ‘mean girl’? She feeds you a pack of lies. Don’t listen to her. And don’t compare yourself to others. You have a special gift that none of them shall ever possess.

You’re you. And no one else is ever going to be able to you. 🙂

❤ bookwormjulia

Leave a Comment

